中暑

中暑在夏季經常發生在狗隻身上。狗隻的排汗能力極為有限,只能透過喘氣來降溫,但以喘氣來散熱的效用不大。狗隻天生並不擅長在酷熱的日間運動,野生狗隻一般只在黎明和黃昏時分活動。狗隻的正常體溫界乎於37.5至39.5°C之間,狗隻在做運動時體溫會急升,劇烈運動30分鐘後體溫更可能上升至警戒水平。當狗隻的體溫上升至40°C時,狗隻會猛烈喘氣;當上升至41°C時,狗隻便會中暑;體溫達42°C時,狗隻的生命會受到威脅。

 

中暑的症狀包括劇烈喘氣、迷糊、意識不清、步履蹣跚和出現血尿。如果您懷疑寵物中暑,請立即停止所有活動,灑冷水在狗隻身上協助狗隻降溫,然後馬上乘車往獸醫診所求診。除了即時的傷害,如未能及時治療,中暑也可能導致永久的器官損壞。

 

要預防中暑,在酷熱天氣下帶狗隻出外散步時必須格外留神。在盛夏期間,主人應只在清晨或黃昏帶狗隻出外散步。即使必須要在中午外出,也應儘量縮短在室外的時間。如你在散步時出汗,請謹記灑水在狗隻身上替牠們降溫,而且每15分鐘便要稍作休息讓牠們喝水。請注意,很多狗隻都喜歡到戶外散步,牠們很容易會過分興奮,不會留意自己的身體是否過熱。

 

Dr David Gething 在Hellodog的訪問中講解如何辨識中暑的跡象及應對方式。

Heat Stroke

During summer heat stroke is a common problem for dogs. Dogs have an extremely limited ability to sweat and their only real way to cool off if by panting, which unfortunately is not very efficient. Dogs were not bred as hot weather daytime athletes, and in the wild generally do most of their activity at dawn and dusk. The normal body temperature in a dog is between 37.5-39.5°C. As a dog exercises their body temperature can rise rapidly, and danger levels can develop with 30 minutes of vigorous exercise. At 40°C a dog will vigorously pant. At 41°C a dog will develop heatstroke. At 42°C a dog is in a life-threatening emergency.

Signs of heatstroke include extremely heavy panting, being dazed, confused, staggering and passing blood in the urine. If you suspect your dog has heatstroke you should stop walking immediately, pour cool water all over the dog, allow them to cool then carry them to a car or taxi and seek veterinary attention immediately. As well as the immediate damage, heatstroke can cause permanent organ problems if it is not treated.

To prevent heatstroke, be careful walking dogs during the hot weather. In the middle of summer dogs should only go out in the cool mornings and evenings, and if a lunchtime walk is necessary just make it very short. If you are sweating on a walk, pour water over your dog to allow them to cool, and stop every 15 minutes to allow your dog to drink. Remember that many dogs are very enthusiastic out on a walk and will over-exert themselves before they realise how hot they are.